Both Mish and Jaison talk about privacy and why it should conern you.

 

Download Name Play Size Duration
download GeekLeak_01-06-17
8 MB 8:45 min
download GeekLeak_01-20-17
6.9 MB 10:00 min
download GeekLeak_01-27-17
6.9 MB 10:00 min
download GeekLeak_02-03-17
10.1 MB 10:59 min
download GeekLeak_02-17-17
8.8 MB 9:34 min
download GeekLeak_02-24-17
9.4 MB 10:15 min
download GeekLeak_03-03-17
10.1 MB 11:02 min
download GeekLeak_03-23-17
10.3 MB 11:14 min
download GeekLeak_03-31-17
10.2 MB 11:10 min
download GeekLeak_04-07-17
6.7 MB 9:47 min
download GeekLeak_04-21-17
10.3 MB 11:15 min
download GeekLeak_05-05-2017
10.3 MB 11:15 min
download GeekLeak_05-12-17
7.3 MB 10:40 min
download GeekLeak_05-19-17
8.6 MB 12:34 min

For one reason or another most folks don't seem to be concerned about privacy when on the computer (or tablet or even their phone). Computer Tamers / Geeks at Work have always used the analogy that putting something on the internet is just like writing it down on a postcard and mailing it out; it's open to the world.  Even if you attempt to delete a picture or profile of yourself off the internet, it doesn't totally delete it.  Google archives websites.  There's even a website called Web Archive (www.archive.org) that archives the entire web.  Be care of what you put out on the internet.  With Facebook, since most poeple share most everything on the social media giant, it's a goldmine for the "bad guys".  Be careful what you post.  Another thing that appears to be growing in popularity is using the old phone trick.  Getting a call out of the blue saying "they work for Microsoft" and "have detected your computer is possibly infected".  They'll then walk you through steps to show you you're infected (when you're not).  They'll then remote into your computer to "fix" it for hundreds of dollars and then of course you're infected.  

 Question of the Week

John from Chicago emailed us over the week about a popup on his computer supposedly saying his computer was infected and to call some 800 number.  Quick answer is that it is SPAM.  Any website can create a popup or what looks like a popup and attempt to trick you into clicking on the link, which of course will get you infected.  Best thing is to just close the browser and run your anti-virus program to just make sure.  If you think you're infected, bring your computer into a local computer repair shop and have them run a diagnosis on it.
September 7th, 2016 - no reported issues or outages.

"And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose."

© 2017 Computer Tamers
Back to Top